Birthdays

Kafka’s Literary Birthday

Today is July 3rd, which would’ve been the 136th anniversary of Franz Kafka’s birth. I’m currently reading a book of his short stories, therefore the occasion is quite appropriate. Also, I’ve made a collage with some photos that speak kafkaesque to me (to myself personally, at least), some of which are inspired by his works, especially The Trial and his short story Description of a Struggle.

Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.

Youth is happy because it has the capacity to see beauty. Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old.

I am free and that is why I am lost.

All I am is literature, and I am not able or willing to be anything else.

There are times when I am convinced I am unfit for any human relationship.

Leave a comment