Ramblings

On Absence

Okay, so first things first – this post is not as serious as it sounds. I’m fine, I was simply inactive because I was lacking time… or because I was lazy and unmotivated, or both? Which makes me wonder how, in my first year of “blogging” I somehow found time and zest for writing articles several times a month and still found the time for other things. I’m not holding that against myself though, as I really do not view blogging as just another chore – but I’ve missed it.

(Oh, and if you made it this far: just so you know, this is going to be one of those rambling, stream-of-consciousness posts with no real purpose apart from venting. So you’ve been warned 😉).

The last time I published something here it was October, and that one was also posted after a long break (well, “long” according to my criteriums anyway!). Which is totally fine, as there ‘s more to life than blogging, and many amazing blogs I follow publish posts even less freqeuntly, but when they do write they deliver. But, as I said, I have occasional bursts of blogging-nostalgia, and I abruptly decided this would be a good time to sort of break the blogging silence and post a little update for my own peace of mind (lol). I expect the next month and a half or so to be busy, so I figured out this time shortly before NYE would be the last quiet resort before I lose my head (figuratively).

What should I talk about right now, anyway? Let’s talk a bit about movies and books, and other fun stuff. Recently I have been reading Little Women and I’m loving it. As for the movies, I initially planned to post some movie reviews here, but haven’t been much in the mood. In fact I haven’t seen that many Old Hollywood films recently – I was mainly watching TV shows, but now I’m kind of in the mood for returning to classics once again. Right now I am debating what should I watch next. It’s funny, because it changes every day what kind of movie I’m in the mood for. For instance, a couple of days ago I was very much in the mood for some late 1930s screwball or romantic comedy, preferably with Jimmy Stewart. And then the day after that I wanted to see some early 1930s pre-code comedies, perhaps some Lubitsch. Then I was in the mood for some silly and cheerful musicals all of a sudden (think An American in Paris, Funny Face, etc). And I’m pretty sure this mood is still holding me, so if you have any recommendations, feel free to share them with me. Think some light-hearted comedy in sumptuous Technicolor, with gorgeous costumes, preferably late 1940s/early 1950s, perhaps with Gene Kelly, but it doesn’t have to be with him. Any suggestions? Provided that I won’t set my mind on an entirely different genre by tomorrow. Although whatever your mood, I feel like you can’t go wrong with an Old Hollywood (or non-Hollywood) musical, can you? Even if the plot is weak, the visuals are usually stunning and its silliness will probably make you smile a bit. I highly recommend An American in Paris, Funny Face or The Umbrellas of Cherbourg.

Hum, I don’t really have anything else to say, I guess. If it isn’t too soon to say – happy New Year! Hopefully I’ll be back in the next year with something more substantial to write about. Until then, happy holidays!

Gene Kelly wishes you a happy New Year too!

Leave a comment